On Safety, Comfort and Choosing Change…

“Why are you moving?”  This was the Facebook message I received a couple of weeks ago.  I confess I had to bite back the urge to say, “Why do you care?”.  Instead my response was, “Well, because I want to live in the mountains.  And there’s really nothing stopping me.”  I’m glad that I didn’t go with my first response because what ensued was a wonderful philosophical discussion about taking chances and creativity and the gift of allowing life to not be too comfortable.

“It’s always a good thing to seek change”, he said.  “Safety is not always the best choice.”  I’m finally learning that this is true.  Learning to embrace change; learning to take that leap of faith when it feels right…and maybe even when it feels a little uncomfortable.

Tomorrow morning I’ll get on a plane and fly to North Carolina.  Saturday afternoon I have an appointment to go look at what very well could be my new home, just across the North Carolina border in Roan Mountain, TN.  A small house on almost an acre of beautiful land just 6 or so miles from Roan Mountain State Park.  All of this is starting to get real.

I’ve been amazed at the number of people that have been put in my path to affirm the choices that I’m making.  The choice to take a chance on a dream; to get out of my comfort zone and go for what I want, even when it might seem impractical.  For all these people, I am so very grateful.  To the friends, the acquaintances and the strangers who have come along in the past couple of months to encourage, inspire and challenge me, I say thank you.

Stay tuned…

2 thoughts on “On Safety, Comfort and Choosing Change…

  1. morrowsl says:

    I’ve got my fingers crossed that the stars continue to align as they should.

Leave a Reply

